New Order Allows Iowa Park PD to Tow Car if Driver Has No Insurance

On Monday, Iowa Park city councilors approved a general order that would allow police to tow the vehicle of any driver who cannot show proof of insurance but only if a driver meets certain criteria.

Driving is not a right.

It's a privilege.

That's why Iowa Park police are putting the brakes on drivers who are behind the wheel without proof of insurance.

"We've had some problems in the past with people who don't want to have their vehicle insured and I know that our goal in Iowa Park is to protect our citizens while they're operating our vehicles on public roadways," explains Iowa Park Police Chief Robert Johnson.

On Monday, Chief Robert Johnson asked city councilors to consider having a vehicle towed if the driver could not show proof of insurance.

The council approved the order and it took effect Monday night but there are stipulations.

"If you're involved in an accident and you don't have insurance then we're gonna tow your vehicle," Chief Johnson says.

But, if you're pulled over for a traffic stop and don't have proof of insurance, the chief says vehicles will only be towed and impounded if the driver has one of the following:

-a previous conviction for no insurance

-an outstanding warrant

-or does not have a valid drivers license.

Although Chief Johnson says the goal is to make drivers more responsible and follow the state law of having vehicle insurance he says officers do understand-- sometimes people just forget to put their new insurance information in their vehicles.

"If that person says that I just forgot my insurance and it is still valid we're gonna make every effort we can to verify that they do have insurance," Chief Johnson adds.

If you are cited for not have proof of insurance in Iowa Park here is a look at the costs.

Towing will cost you $150, the Impound fee is $20 and impound storage will cost you $20 a day.

Then, add to those fees the fine of being ticketed for driving without insurance, which is $256 for the first offense and $351 for the second or any additional offense.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

  • Texoma's Home Page

  • KFDX 3 Weather

  • KFDX 3 Sports


  • KFDX 3 Weather

  • KFDX 3 News

  • TexomasHomepage Mobile App