Essary, Cottrell Highlight MSU's Contingent of 5 on All-LSC's First Team

- Midwestern State placed five players on the All-Lone Star Conference first team Thursday night when league officials announced annual postseason honors at the LSC Postseason Tournament banquet.

Senior Kallie Essary and sophomore Ashley Cottrell took home special honors while Jeff Trimble garnered Coach of the Year accolades for the third time in his career also claiming the honor in 1998 and 2010.

Essary was named Goalkeeper of the Year after tying a program single-season record with eight shutouts posting a stellar 0.66 goals against average with a .857 save percentage.

Cottrell earned Offensive Player of the Year honors leading the LSC with eight goals while adding two assists. The Arlington native was also garnered top offensive honors in the preseason after tallying seven goals as a freshman in 2012.

Midwestern State opens LSC Postseason Tournament play against Texas A&M-Commerce in the semifinal round Friday at the ASU Soccer Field. Kickoff is set for noon.

The winner moves on to face the victor of Friday's other matchup pitting Angelo State against West Texas A&M Sunday in the championship game beginning at 1 p.m.

2013 All-Lone Star Confrence Awards

Offensive Player of the Year
Ashley Cottrell, Midwestern State

Goalkeeper of the Year
Kallie Essary, Midwestern State

Defensive Player of the Year
Rhea Belgrave, West Texas A&M

Newcomer of the Year
Fabienne Wilson, Eastern New Mexico

Freshman of the Year
Savannah Henderson, Texas A&M-Commerce

Coaches of the Year
Jeff Trimble, Midwestern State
Travis McCorkle, Angelo State

First Team

Rhea BelgraveWest Texas A&MDJr.Kennedale, Texas
Vicky BackTexas A&M-CommerceDFr.York, England
Anna MolenMidwestern StateDSr.Flower Mound, Texas
Renee RomeroEastern New MexicoDJr.Albuquerque, N.M.
Savannah HendersonTexas A&M-CommerceFFr.Mabank, Texas
Ashley CottrellMidwestern StateFSo.Arlington, Texas
Sierra AndersonAngelo StateFSo.Wichita Falls, Texas
Morgan HannonMidwestern StateMFSo.Midland, Texas
Maggie SchafferAngelo StateMFSr.New Braunfels, Texas
Callie AnnettTexas A&M-CommerceMFJr.McKinney, Texas
Katy CatneyMidwestern StateMFJr.Wichita Falls, Texas
Kallie EssaryMidwestern StateGKSr.Carrollton, Texas

Second Team

Caitlyn ConawayAngelo StateDJr.Kennedale, Texas
Lauren PerryAngelo StateDFr.Plano, Texas
Jordan BenfieldAngelo StateDSr.Oak Point, Texas
Berklee WatsonWest Texas A&MDSr.Amarillo, Texas
Erin BolingerTexas Woman'sDSo.Plano, Texas
Sara DeebTexas Woman'sDSo.Plano, Texas
Brionna MindeTexas A&M-CommerceFSr.Richardson, Texas
Emily DavilaTexas Woman'sFJr.Dallas, Texas
Mariel ParraTexas Woman'sMFSr.Kingwood, Texas
McKylie CalliganWest Texas A&MMFFr.Leander, Texas
Carolyn ArmijoEastern New MexicoMFSo.Las Cruces, N.M.
Alyssa PrinceEastern New MexicoMFJr.Las Cruces, N.M.
Yvette BedoyWest Texas A&MGKSr.Garland, Texas

Don't Miss

Latest News

  • Texoma's Home Page

  • KFDX 3 Weather

  • KFDX 3 Sports


  • KFDX 3 Weather

  • KFDX 3 News

  • TexomasHomepage Mobile App