Sponsored by

Wichita County Candidates Announced for March Primaries

The Wichita County Courthouse was just one of the stops candidates in the upcoming primaries made.
The Wichita County Courthouse was just one of the stops candidates in the upcoming primaries made. They also went to Burkburnett, Electra and Iowa Park hoping to meet voters.

Monday, County Judge Woody Gossom brought together the current candidates for the Wichita County March primaries to announce their candidacy.

“I thought I would give people a chance to know these campaigns are taking place. It's a very important election here in local government,” said Judge Gossom.

Not all candidates who will appear on the ballot were necessarily in attendance. The deadline to file for candidacy doesn't end until December 9th, which means a threat of an opponent still remains for those currently running unopposed.

Others are already going head to head.

Like Democrat Allyn Arnold and Republican Jeff Watts who are running for County Commissioner of Precinct Four.

After four terms Pat Norriss, County Commissioner of Precinct Two says she will not file for re-election. That has Lee Harvey and Bill Lockwood, both republicans, battling for the seat.

And, three republican women, Caroline Nicholas, Lisa Talley, and incumbent Lori Bohannon, will be seeking the Wichita County Clerk position.

While the day helped to get candidates names out there Judge Gossom says it was also about reminding citizens of their duty to elect.

“People if they are not a current voter they need to get their voter registration in because that is the way you speak, is through your vote,” he said.

Judge Gossom says the best way to get to know your candidates is by talking with them one on one.

He encourages people to either call up the candidates and talk to them over the phone, or in person.

To see the latest list of candidates who have filed for election click this link: https://webservices.sos.state.tx.us/candidate-filing/cf-report.aspx
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus



[[result.OptionText]] [[calculateVotePercent(result)]]%
Poll sponsored by