DPS Troopers Cracking Down on Illegal School Bus Passing

DPS Troopers Cracking Down on Illegal School Bus Passing

If you pass a school bus illegally in Texas, you will face a higher fine this year than years past.
If you pass a school bus illegally in Texas, you will face a higher fine this year than years past.

This week, extra authorities will have extra patrols watching for violators as part of School Bus Safety Week.

In some areas, DPS troopers will be riding in the buses to catch violators. In other areas, they will be at areas where buses pick up or drop off students.

The maximum fine for a first time offense for illegally passing a school bus increased from $1,000 to $1,250 in September.

The DPS says the time students are entering or exiting the buses is the most dangerous for the kids.

State law requires motorists to stop when approaching a school bus that is stopped and operating a visual signal.

You can not proceed until the school bus resumes moving, the bus driver signals it's okay for you to proceed, or the visual signal is no longer activated.

That stop rule applies to whether you are coming from behind or in front of the bus.

If you are on a roadway with a median space or physical barrier between lanes, only drivers going the same direction as the bus are required to stop.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus