What The Tech! Facebook Password Recovery

I guess we've all had that moment when you just can't remember a username and password to
an old account.

Most of us probably joined Facebook 5-10 years ago, using an email address. If
you no longer have access to that email account you could be locked out of Facebook the next
the time you're asked to remember your username and/or password.

Facebook has upped its security in recent years so it's difficult, if not impossible to access in
account once you're logged out.

Unless you have access to the email address, Facebook will not help you gain access to your
account because there's no certainty that it isn't someone pretending to be you.
A friend recently ran into this problem when their mother couldn't remember the login
information on an old Facebook account. She either didn't remember or didn't have access to
the email address or phone number she used when the account was created. Sadly I had to
advise her that there isn't much help.

Facebook for its part has made it possible to access an account even if you forget the
username/password/phone number and email address combination.

"Trusted Friends" is a feature that gives you some help from fellow Facebook friends to get back
into your account.

Here's how it works:
In the settings tab in Facebook, you can select 3-5 of your Facebook friends as 'trusted
contacts'. These should be your friends whom you trust with your information, though Facebook
says they won't actually get access to your account.

Once those friends are selected the next time you're locked out of your Facebook account you'll
be asked to reconnect using the email or phone number you used when you first created the
account. If you don't remember that information you'll be asked to give Facebook an email
address or phone number you are using now. Once that happens, you can see your trusted
contacts.

Facebook will send those trusted contacts a message asking them to get in touch with you by
phone. They'll go to the website www.facebook.com/recover. Once Facebook confirms they've
contacted the real you, your friend will get a secret code which they should pass on to you.

Once all of those codes are collected, go back to Facebook.com and enter the codes after
which Facebook will allow you to gain access to your account again. You'll, of course, need to
change your password and you'll want to update your email address and phone number
Facebook has on file.

Sure, you may think you'll never forget your Facebook login information. Keep thinking that. Or
set up Trusted Contacts and never worry about wishing you had done it sooner.


More Stories

Don't Miss

  • Home For The Holidays
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Live Stream
  • Texoma Pros
  • Buy Local Texoma
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Home Network
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Latest News

  • Texoma's Home Page

  • KFDX 3 Weather

  • KFDX 3 Sports

  • TexomasHomepage.com,
    KFDX, KJTL, & KJBO

  • KFDX 3 Weather

  • KFDX 3 News

    Instagram
  • TexomasHomepage Mobile App