WINDTHORST (KFDX/KJTL) — Gov. Greg Abbott recognized Windthorst Elementary along with 27 other Texas schools for a national honor.

The schools are recognized as the 2020 National Blue Ribbon schools, which are determined by academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. 

“Congratulations to the hardworking students, teachers, administrators, and parents of the 28 Texas schools recognized as Blue Ribbon Schools this year,” Abbott stated. “This prestigious honor is a testament to the Texas’ educational excellence and our teachers’ dedication to their students. The State of Texas will continue to build a brighter future for every Texas student.”

The list of school recognized include:

  • Alvarado Elementary South – Alvarado ISD
  • Desertaire Elementary School – Ysleta ISD
  • Dr. Wright L. Lassiter Jr. Early College High School – Dallas ISD
  • Early Childhood Development Center – Corpus Christi ISD
  • Early College High School Carrollton – Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
  • Edward Roberson Middle School – Spring ISD
  • Edward Titche Elementary School – Dallas ISD
  • Heights Elementary School – Laredo ISD
  • Henry W Longfellow Career Exploration Academy – Dallas ISD
  • High School for Law and Justice – Houston ISD
  • Hobbs Williams Elementary School – Grand Prairie ISD
  • John Z. Leyendecker Elementary School – Laredo ISD
  • Kelly-Pharr Elementary School – Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
  • Langham Elementary School – Nederland ISD
  • Maude Mae Kirchner Elementary School – Eagle Pass ISD
  • Memorial Elementary School – Houston ISD
  • Milam Elementary School – El Paso ISD
  • Redwater Junior High School – Redwater ISD
  • Reilly Elementary School – Austin ISD
  • Saint Theresa Catholic School – Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston
  • Texas Academy of Biomedical Sciences – Fort Worth ISD
  • The Shlenker School – The Shlenker School District
  • Transmountain Early Collee High School – El Paso ISD
  • Vista Academy of Austin-Mueller – Texas College Preparatory Academy
  • West Main Elementary School – Lancaster ISD
  • Windsor Park G/T Elementary School – Corpus Christi ISD
  • Windthorst Elementary School – Windthorst ISD
  • Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy – Houston ISD

Of the 28 Texas schools to receive the honor, the school is being recognized as an Exemplary High Performing School.

Windthorst ISD’s Superintendent Lonnie Hise said he believes everyone in the district including teachers, students and parents and the community played a huge role in making this happen.

“Our teachers are second to none, they are outstanding teachers, they care about the kids and I think that’s the reason that these kids are successful,” Hise said.

Hise said being able to get the same distinction among what he considers bigger school districts is amazing and he is very proud of the staff and students.

Hise said this is motivation to keep working hard and should be a statement for the other campuses in the school district to follow suit.