Disaster mitigation action plans now being discussed for 10 county area

Local News

The Nortex Regional Planning Commission is now working with the counties of Archer, Baylor, Clay, Cottle, Foard, Hardeman, Jack, Montague, Wilbarger and Young to put together disaster mitigation plans.

The goal is to eliminate long term-risk to human life and property if and when natural disasters and hazards occur.

Once plans are approved by FEMA, NRPC and all participating jurisdictions must formally adopt the plan and would be eligible for emergency funding.

Right now, comments are being taken from the public.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don’t Miss

Get FREE Text Alerts
Report It