TEXOMA (KFDX/KJTL) — Early voting ahead of the May 24 primary runoff elections is wrapped up Friday, May 20 across Texoma.

Now on Election Day, May 24, residents of various counties will be heading to the polls to decide who will represent their political parties in the November general elections.

All Texans who head to the polls will cast their vote in a number of primary races that have narrowed the field to two candidates who received the most votes in the March 3 primaries, but didn’t secure an outright majority of the votes.

In addition, several communities within Texoma will hold runoff elections for local races to determine who will represent each political party on the November general election ballot.

Texoma’s Homepage is Your Local Election Headquarters, and we have the breakdown of every state-wide and local race in the area. Here’s a look at what races will be on this ballot.

What’s on the ballot state-wide?

Just like the March 1 Primary Elections, voters that head to the polls will be deciding on who will represent their party in the November General Elections later this year.

Texomans who voted in the March 1 Primaries are required by Texas Law to vote for the same party in the runoff election that they voted for in March.

Texomans who did not vote in March can vote in either party’s runoff.

Here are the candidates that will be on the ballot for the Democratic and Republican Parties in Texas:

Democratic Party

Lieutenant Governor

  • Mike Collier
  • Michelle Beckley

Attorney General

  • Joe Jaworski
  • Rochelle Mercedes Garza

Commissioner of General Land Office

  • Sandragrace Martinez
  • Jay Kleberg

Comptroller of Public Accounts

  • Angel Luis Vega
  • Janet T. Dudding

Republican Party

Attorney General

  • Ken Paxton (incumbent)
  • George P. Bush

Commissioner of General Land Office

  • Dawn Buckingham
  • Tim Westley

Railroad Commissioner

  • Sarah Stogner
  • Wayne Christian

Are there any local races on the May 24 ballot?

The race for the Wichita County Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace will be on the ballot for those who would have been eligible to vote in the race during the March 1 primary.

Incumbent Justice of the Peace Judy Baker filed a lawsuit contesting the results, which showed challenger Randy Elliott the winner. Baker said Elliott won by only 14 votes and there were at least 20 early voters whose ballots did not have the race listed which means had they voted the results could have been different.

97th District Judge Jack McGaughey ordered the new election in this race, ruling the outcome could not be determined, so the March 1 primary vote is voided.

The outcome of this race now will be determined on May 24. Those Republicans within Precinct 4 will have the opportunity to vote for either incumbent Judy Baker or challenger Randy Elliott.

Other races in Texoma include:

Clay County

Justice of the Peace

  • John Swenson (incumbent)
  • Lanny R. Evans


  • Jack Rickett
  • Brock Myers

Archer County

Commissioner — Precinct 2

  • Kurt Wolf
  • Darin Wolf

Make sure you’re following Texoma’s Homepage and our KFDX/KJTL anchors and reporters on social media for the latest primary election news, live coverage from polling locations, and accurate final results first. We are Your Local Election Headquarters.

For the latest election results, download our app in the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store. For updates and to receive daily breaking news, weather and more, subscribe to our newsletter.