Governor Abbott appoints WFISD educator from Graham to Texas Early Learning Council

Local News

The Director of Early Learning for Wichita Falls Independent School District, Travis Armstrong, Ed.D., has been appointed to the Texas Early Learning Council by Governor Greg Abbott.

The Texas Early Learning Council serves as Texas’ state advisory council as required by the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007. 

The Council helps improve the quality of and access to early childhood services across Texas. 

In 2019, the Council will lead a statewide birth-five needs assessment and strategic plan as part of Texas’ Preschool Development Grant project.

Governor Greg Abbott also appointed Katherine Abba, Ph.D., Sarah Abrahams, Courtney Arbour, Weldon Beard, Terrie Breeden, April Crawford, Ph.D., Sam Eng, Alferma Giles, Ph.D., Melissa Horton, Beck Huss-Keeler, Ph.D., Ramah Leith, Jerletha McDonald, Dana McGrath, Jacquie Porter, Julie Richards, Teresa Robledo, Stephanie Rubin, Kierstan Schwab, and June Yeatman to the Texas Early Learning Council for terms to expire at the pleasure of the Governor. Additionally, the Governor named Jacquie Porter chair of the council, and Texas First Lady Cecilia Abbott will serve as honorary chair.

Click here for the press release.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Report It

Latest News

More Local News