WFISD announces teachers of the year

Local News

WICHITA FALLS (KFDX KJTL) — Two unsung heroes in the WFISD were honored for their hard work and dedication for their school and students Friday.

WFISD honored its elementary and secondary teachers of the year Friday morning.

WFISD Superintendent Michael Kuhrt named Courtney Kittrell, a fourth grade English/Language Arts teacher at Ben Franklin Elementary, the 2020 elementary teacher of the year.

He named Debby Ford, a math teacher at Wichita Falls High School, the 2020 secondary teacher of the year.

Both Kittrell and Ford were thankful for the honor.

“I am very honored I been teaching for the campus for 20 years this was actually the first time I was nominated so I didn’t expect anything beyond that so it was an honor because the people I work with mean a great deal to me and for them to feel I’m worthy of this is overwhelming,” Old High math teacher Debby Ford said.

And in true fashion of teachers, both were modest in their celebration saying all teachers love what they do and go above and beyond Ben Franklin teacher Courtney Kittrell sid.

“I’m so thankful that I did but there are so many teachers in Wichita falls that I just didn’t know it was gonna happen this way but I’m grateful that it did,” Ben Franklin

Both received a plaque to commemorate their achievement.

Elementary teacher of the year finalists was Milam elementary’s Angela Bullard, Brook village’s Elise Fox, and Zundy Elementary’s Lindsay Rogers.

Secondary finalists were McNiel’s Mark Dudley and the Career Education Center’s Sabrina Bradley.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Report It

Latest News

More Local News