There are two new voices on the Wichita Falls ISD school board and new people in leadership positions.

Mark Lukert and Katherine McGregor were sworn in this evening after winning in the midterms. And for winning re-election — Elizabeth Yeager, Bob Payton, and Tom Bursey were also sworn in. Lukert, who defeated the place three incumbent in November, wants to bring his experience as an educator, while McGregor, the new at-large trustee,  says she’s excited to bring transparency to the community.

“I think the best thing that I can bring again is 42 years of serving as a teacher, as a principal, as a supervisor,” Lukert said. “I’m really interested in transparency with the public and a more direct line of communication to the public. I’m very interested in a future bond, I hope that we can do that,” McGregor said.  

Also, the school board voted to shift some of the positions on the board. Elizabeth Yeager, who was formerly the secretary, was appointed president of the school board, replacing Dale Harvey, who is now the vice president. To fill Yeager’s role, Tom Bursey was named secretary. The changes were passed following a four to three vote.