CLAY COUNTY (KFDX/KJTL) — Residents of Petrolia have chosen a candidate to serve as the next mayor of their city.

Two candidates, James “Cody” Mitcham and Sonya Harrison Labrie campaigned to replace current mayor Bill Holmberg, who has served as mayor for a decade.

Labrie earned a majority of the votes, 91, defeating Mitcham and assuming the role of Mayor of Petrolia.

Also on the ballot for residents of Petrolia was the selection of up to three new aldermen to serve on the Petrolia City Council.

Make sure you’re following Texoma’s Homepage and our KFDX/KJTL anchors and reporters on social media for the latest primary election news, live coverage from polling locations, and accurate final results first. We are Your Local Election Headquarters.

For the latest election results, download our app in the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store. For updates and to receive daily breaking news, weather and more, subscribe to our newsletter.